Australian Property & Building Inspections continue to provide contactless inspection services during COVID-19 Restrictions. Read More

Australian Property & Building Inspections continue to provide contactless inspection services during COVID-19 Restrictions. Read More

General Inspection - Rental Minimum Standards Check

Residential Tenancies Act 2018

 

Australian Property & Building Inspections conduct independent General Inspection Check against the Rental Minimum Residential Standards across Melbourne, Mornington Peninsula, Geelong (Western) and regional Victoria. Cost: $350.00

BOOK AN INSPECTION NOW
OR CALL US ON 1300 657 546

Rental Minimum Residential Standards Check 

New rental laws came into effect on 29 March 2021 across Victoria.

Under the new rental laws, rental providers (landlords) must ensure that their rental property meets certain minimum standards. 

The minimum standards cover basic but important requirements relating to amenity, safety and privacy, and rental providers have a duty to ensure their property meets these standards. 

The minimum standards only apply to rental agreements entered into on or after 29 March 2021

 

Rental Minimum Standards Check Melbourne | Report Details

Australian Property & Building Inspections conduct a rental minimum standards building inspection.

There are 14 rental minium standards check categories:

  1. Door locks
  2. Ventilation 
  3. Vermin proof bins
  4. Toilets
  5. Bathroom facilities
  6. Kitchen facilities
  7. Laundry facilities
  8. Structural soundness
  9. Mould and dampness
  10. Electical safety
  11. Window coverings
  12. Windows
  13. Lighting
  14. Heating (Phased in over 3 years)

Please Note: Electrical Safety Testing should be carried out by a Qualified Electrical Contractor. Gas Safety Testing should be carried out by a Qualified Gas Fitter / Plumber.

 

Rental Minimum Standards Check Melbourne | Sample report

For detailed information about what Australian Property & Building Inspections rental minimum standards inspection check in Melbourne covers you can download a sample report.

Our Melbourne team of customer service consultants will with agents, landlords, tenants and property managers for access to property.

Our prices are fixed and do not contain hidden travel costs.

The rental minimum standards inspection check report is completed digitally by our local victorian inspectors and then emailed as a PDF or printed and posted within 24 hours of the completed inspection.

 

RENTAL MINIMUM STANDARDS CHECK INSPECTION COST

BOOK AN INSPECTION NOW

OR CALL US ON 1300 657 546

Your Inspector

Customer Reviews

  • 27 February 2021

      "Highly recommended ABPI, They are good in their business."

    -  Manmeer TV

  • 20 January 2021

      "We used APB after a friend recommended them to us to complete our pre-sale inspection of the property and they have been fantastic. Their website was easy to use and all the information you need was laid out clearly. No hidden costs whatsoever. The inspector completed their inspection and the report came out the very next day. We have recommended them to other friends already."

    -  Karen Yu

  • 20 January 2021

      "Excellent service, cannot recommend highly enough! Five Stars :)"

    -  Andrew Nemaric

  • 13 January 2021

      "Professional inspection done to my satisfaction!"

    -  Suresh Gopal

  • 13 January 2021

      "They were very responsive and professional to work with. Thanks to them we identified a great deal of defects on the property. Although, I must say they missed one major defect(creaking flooring) which is tad upsetting given they found other defects which could've been missed easily. Overall, a mixed one for me."

    -  Aeshwary Kushwah

  • 12 January 2021

      "Amazing service provided that assisted with my final decision. Thank you so much."

    -  Clare Me

  • 12 January 2021

      "Good quality reports from building inspectors that actually take their time to fully inspect a property as opposed to others in the market. Great value for money and a must for any prospective buyers. I highly recommend and will be using these guys again."

    -  Anne Simmonds

  • 08 January 2021

      "Great value and peace of mind when purchasing our new apartment. Quick, friendly and super professional."

    -  Ben Rosenquist

  • 08 January 2021

      "Very professional at a good value."

    -  Ruby Lane

  • 07 January 2021

    -  Ghislain Otia

  • 21 December 2020

      "Very detailed report. Fair price. Easy to contact and change the appointment. Amazing customer service. I already referred two of my friends and definitely recommend them to others. Thank guys and keep up the good work."

    -  Siroos Khadem

  • 10 November 2020

      "Very good!!!"

    -  Maria Wright

  • 26 September 2020

    -  Roshan Perera

  • 26 September 2020

      "They are responsive and flexible to attend the inspection time"

    -  Anderson Peter

  • 15 September 2020

      "Was very happy with APBI service. I called them one week before handover.. Manisha from reception explained the process with the completion inspection. They were very flexible with appointment date and time. David was our inspector, he arrived on time and the report was sent to us within a few hours even though it usually takes 24 hours. The report stated all the defects in detail with photos aswell. Highly recommend APBI. Thanks Zainab :-)"

    -  zee sal

  • 26 August 2020

      "Good and detailed report. Professional and helpful"

    -  Chin Veiming

  • 17 August 2020

      "Had to move quick on a property and was able to organise an pre-purchase inspection and was able to have it done within 48 hours. Report has photos and is easy to follow. Would use again"

    -  Chris McDonnell

  • 14 August 2020

    -  Maree Busuttil

  • 14 August 2020

      "Used the services for Pest and structural inspection.It was ontime, professionally done, well communicated."

    -  Balasankar K

  • 12 August 2020

      "Used APBI for a few pre-purchase building and pest inspection, they were very prompt with appointment booking. Inspector was also helpful with going through the post-inspection report + any recommended fix."

    -  Ally Low

  • 07 August 2020

    -  Tammy Le

  • 07 August 2020

      "APBI completed a building & pest inspection for us on a potential purchase. They were recommended to us and were priced well so we engaged them. I was very impressed with the turn around time and detail of the report. I even called the rep for a couple of questions of which they were more than happy to help elaborate on the report items. Would recommend their inspection services to family and friends."

    -  Michael Sullivan

  • 07 August 2020

      "David was friendly and extremely thorough with his inspection. He had a sound knowledge of the Australian building standards and he took the time to explain issues to us in a clear and concise manner."

    -  Jason Grealy

  • 29 July 2020

      "Inspection scheduling is too quick, they are too responsive. I give them 4 star becasue, during my last inspection, inspector fail to notice some items that we have to deal with builder. Overall, its good experience!"

    -  Amit Patel

  • 27 July 2020

    -  yanwc

  • 24 July 2020

      "We had a great experience with APBI, they were quick to book us in at short notice, provided valuable and honest appraisal of our property & were good value for money. Thanks"

    -  Emma & Tom Battye-Cockburn

  • 18 July 2020

      "I contacted APBI as I needed a building and pest inspection completed asap. They were able to accommodate me within a couple of days and I had the full report by the next day. Very detailed and thorough. Would definitely recommend them to anyone looking for a pre purchase inspection."

    -  Lisa Thomas

  • 26 June 2020

      "This was my first time purchasing a property, and I was glad I went with APBI. They were affordable, and the service was quick and professional. They liaised with the agent to confirm a time and did a thorough inspection of the property! Would recommend - it was a very easy process!"

    -  Gab Cincotta

  • 10 June 2020

    -  Srujan Gudisa

  • 10 June 2020

      "Very responsive and quick turn around on the building and pest inspection report. Ispectory available on phone to discuss all issues identified after inspection."

    -  Suyog Ramesh

  • 10 June 2020

    -  Santosh Nayak

  • 10 June 2020

      "Well worth the peace of mind! Small up front cost could save you thousands in the future."

    -  Terry Rowan

  • 02 June 2020

      "Engaged APBI recently. Highly professional, ontime throught the tenure. Exhaustive reports & high attention to the details. Highly recommended."

    -  rajesh deez

  • 15 April 2020

      "So far is a good experience using APBI. They gave prompt reply to the enquiries, and they done the inspection and reports in timely manner. The inspector is easy to be contacted. They also gave a very good price!"

    -  Windy Lie

  • 15 April 2020

      "I needed an urgent Building Inspection for the purchase that I made. I contacted APBI team and explained my circumstances, they organized an inspection even earlier than what they first promised me and the report was ready and sent to me straight away."

    -  Sanaz Shahbazi

  • 12 April 2020

      "Very detailed and thorough report. Thank you for your business, much appreciated."

    -  Nghiem Pham

  • 11 April 2020

      "I had a building inspection completed by APBI in February 2020. I had to reschedule at the last minute and the team were very understanding and easy to communicate with. The inspector showed up on time and was very respectful. He completed a very detailed report and was available for a follow up phone conversation which was extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this service."

    -  Grace Monks

  • 11 April 2020

      "Decent value, fast turn around Pre-Auction inspection. Good communication with real estate agents. Perhaps not as much detail in the "hard to reach" areas of the house as I would like, e.g. stumps under house. Also I think they missed some water damage in the garage ceiling, but nothing major."

    -  Peter Roufaeil

  • 09 April 2020

    -  le tung

  • 09 April 2020

      "We would highly recommend APBI as they were prompt and extremely helpful in providing feedback and guidance even during the actual inspection."

    -  Elaine de Vos

  • 09 April 2020

      "This company was easy to speak to and organise an appointment and everything was complete quickly would definitely use them again and recommend them"

    -  Zoe Langley

  • 09 April 2020

      "Good experience, professional and through report. Dealt with company a couple of times and very easy to deal with. Have referred clients to them for reports as needed."

    -  Gavin Da Gama

  • 08 April 2020

      "I had a few last minute properties to inspect prior to purchasing our first home. Not only did the team accommodate us quickly the report was complete also within a short time frame. The inspection looked at things we didn't even consider and we actually did not buy a property based on structural issue that could not be seen by everyday people like us. Thanks for saving us a ton!"

    -  Amy Lange

  • 08 April 2020

    -  G Singh

  • 08 April 2020

      "As first home buyers, its nerve racking to go through you first build without any experience or know how. Im really happy I've found APBI also through recommendation of a previous customer. David the representative was really helpful even after the inspection for some follow up query. Absolutely recommend everyone to get your own private inspector when building, this is for your own peace of mind. Thank you APBI"

    -  Ian En

  • 07 April 2020

    -  Alicia-Lee Arnold



Book Rental Minimum Standards Check Inspection Now | APBI Melbourne VIC



FAQ
The minimum standards will be phased in and will only apply when a new residential rental agreement is entered into on or after 29 March 2021.
If the rental property does not meet the minimum standards, the renter can end the rental agreement before they move in.
Renters can also request an urgent repair to make the rental property meet the minimum standards at any time after they move in.
Minimum standards for rooming houses have applied since 2013. For more information, visit Rooming house minimum standards.
Minimum standards do not apply to caravans, sites or parks.
The new rental laws apply from 29 March 2021.

Upcoming APBI Events in Melbourne

Date Time Inspection Type Location Book Now | Request a Quote
Tuesday, 15 June 2021 8am to 5pm

Rental Minimum Standards Check

Melbourne

Book Now Request a Quote
Wednesday, 16 June 2021 8am to 5pm

Rental Minimum Standards Check

Melbourne

Book Now Request a Quote
Thursday, 17 June 2021 8am to 5pm

Rental Minimum Standards Check

Melbourne

Book Now Request a Quote
Friday, 18 June 2021 8am to 5pm

Rental Minimum Standards Check

Melbourne

Book Now Request a Quote
Saturday, 19 June 2021 8am to 5pm

Rental Minimum Standards Check

Melbourne

Book Now Request a Quote
Sunday, 20 June 2021 8am to 5pm

Rental Minimum Standards Check

Melbourne

Book Now Request a Quote
Monday, 21 June 2021 8am to 5pm

Rental Minimum Standards Check

Melbourne

Book Now Request a Quote
Tuesday, 22 June 2021 8am to 5pm

Rental Minimum Standards Check

Melbourne

Book Now Request a Quote
Wednesday, 23 June 2021 8am to 5pm

Rental Minimum Standards Check

Melbourne

Book Now Request a Quote
Thursday, 24 June 2021 8am to 5pm

Rental Minimum Standards Check

Melbourne

Book Now Request a Quote
Our Melbourne(VIC) Building Inspection services and price table